covers


LITERARY CONTESTS FICTION NONFICTION POETRY HAPPENINGS BOOK REVIEWS INTERVIEWS NEW TITLES ART & PHOTOGRAPHY

ADELAIDE Independent Quarterly Literary Magazine / Revista Literária Independente Trimestral, New York / Lisboa, Online Edition  

 

book reviews

I’LL GIVE YOU THE SUN
by Jandy Nelson

Book review by Parinitha Prasanna

A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell

Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

POSSIBLE SPOILERS

*Takes a deep breath*
In Sanskrit language, if you have enough knowledge about grammar and enough vocabulary, you can create new words by yourself.

I wish I did because there is no word in the English language that can describe how I feel about this book.

I read this book the first time in digital format and I loved it so much that I decided to buy the physical copy. When I got the book, I made a corresponding bookmark, used orange and gold pens to make notes inside orange and yellow post-its inside the book. And reading it the second time, it did not fail to shatter my heart at all the right places.

This book was perfect, from start to finish. I loved the way Jandy Nelson made her characters so in love with art. I’ve always been interested in art but this book just paved way for the most unimaginable art and the thoughts of artists. All forms of art were expressed in such a brilliant way: designing, sculpting, painting, sketching, facial expressions, photography. Everything.

Noah and Jude are perfect. They start out by telling that they can only play the piano with four hands, and that neither of them have ever won a game of Rock, Paper, Scissors. I love it when it all changes.

I loved every single character mentioned in the book. Except maybe Zephyr and Fry and Brian. But, Gods. Jude, Noah, Dianne, their father, Oscore, Guillermo, CJ: all of them had such wonderful stories of their own that it was heartbreaking to hear them. I was crying and laughing at so many points in the book. It is a treat to the imaginative brain. Whoever dismisses this book as “Just another YA love story” should be tied to a pole and be made to listen to it.

What most adults must try to accept is the fact that YA books have just enough —or sometimes, in this case, more—depth and good writing as any adult book there is.
I cannot even get started on her writing. It was so good! It was descriptive, imaginative, heartbreaking and funny, all at once.

My rating: 5/5 (Although, I’d give it the Sun and all the stars if I could)
Recommendation: To anyone who loves literature and art, there cannot be a more perfect book
.

Date of Publication: April 2, 2015
Published by: Walker books
ISBN: 9781406326499
Page Count: 429 pages

Format: Paperback, Hardcover

Comments (0) Write a comment

 

book reviews

 

     
CONTENTS

HOME

CONTRIBUTORS CURRENT ISSUE STORE FICTION HAPPENINGS NEW TITLES CLASSIFIED ADS
ABOUT US

FRIENDS & PATRONS BACK ISSUES CONTACT US NONFICTION BOOK REVIEWS ART & PHOTOGRAPHY FACEBOOK
MASTHEAD

DONATE SUBMISSIONS BOOK CHAT LIVE POETRY INTERVIEWS BOOK MARKETING TWITTER

Copyright © 2015 Istina Group DBA Independent Publishers, New York            Webdesign: svnwebdesign